deutsche Version
Michael Gesthuysen

Michael Gesthuysen
M.Sc. in Electrical Engineering

With increasing internationalization, the knowledge of thought and work patterns in other cultures is becoming more and more important. For this reason, Michael Gesthuysen, born in 1969, after studying electrical engineering at the University of Aachen (RWTH), changed to the Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Télécommunication (ENST) in Paris to write his diploma thesis in the field of integrated optical electronics in 1995. He then completed his studies in Aachen with a masters degree (diploma). He subsequently worked for a few months in the United States for a subsidiary of a leading German corporation in sensor technology.

With this background, Michael Gesthuysen in 1996 began working in the field of intellectual property at Gesthuysen & von Rohr. At the same time, he completed his general law studies for patent attorneys at the University of Hagen. After his admission as a patent attorney, Michael Gesthuysen became a partner with the firm of Gesthuysen in 2000 and, since then, counsels and represents clients in all fields of intellectual property.

Between 2004 and 2006 Michael Gesthuysen performed a post-graduate course "Protection of Industrial Property in Europe" at the University of Hagen and graduated with the title "Master of Laws" (LL.M.)

english Version
Michael Gesthuysen

Michael Gesthuysen, LL.M., Diplom-Ingenieur

Mit zunehmender Internationalisierung gewinnt die Kenntnis der Denk- und Arbeitsweisen in anderen Kulturen weiter an Bedeutung. Michael Gesthuysen, geboren 1969, wechselte deshalb nach seinem Studium der Elektrotechnik an der RWTH Aachen an die Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Télécommunication (ENST) in Paris, wo er 1995 seine Diplomarbeit auf dem Gebiet der integrierten Optoelektronik erarbeitete; danach schloss er sein Studium in Aachen mit dem Diplom ab. Anschließend arbeitete er einige Monate in den USA für die Tochtergesellschaft eines führenden deutschen Unternehmens der Sensorik.

Mit diesem Hintergrund begann Michael Gesthuysen 1996 seine Tätigkeit im gewerblichen Rechtsschutz, während er parallel das Studium im allgemeinen Recht für Patentanwälte an der FernUniversität Hagen absolvierte. Nach seiner Zulassung als Patentanwalt trat Michael Gesthuysen 2000 als Partner in die jetzt als Patent- und Rechtsanwaltskanzlei tätige Sozietät Gesthuysen ein, und er berät seitdem seine Mandanten in allen Bereichen des gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes.

Von 2004 bis 2006 absolvierte Michael Gesthuysen das Weiterbildungsstudium "Europäischer gewerblicher Rechtsschutz" an der FernUniversität Hagen, das er mit dem Titel "Master of Laws" (LL.M.) erfolgreich abschloss.