deutsche Version
Hans Dieter Gesthuysen

Dr. iur. h.c. Hans Dieter Gesthuysen,
M.Sc. in Electrical Engineering

Hans Dieter Gesthuysen, born in 1940, studied electrical engineering at the University of Berlin and, after receiving his masters degree (diploma) in 1967, he began the study of law at the University of Berlin.

His engineering degree and the commencement of his legal studies led Hans Dieter Gesthuysen to the field of intellectual property. He started his career in 1967 in a patent attorneys' office in Essen. At the same time he continued studying law at the Universities of Bochum and Munich. Admitted as a patent attorney in 1970, he became a partner of the patent attorneys' office where he started his career and at which he stayed for nine years. In 1980, Hans Dieter Gesthuysen founded the firm that has become the partnership of today.

Hans Dieter Gesthuysen has been dedicated to the profession on a voluntary basis since the beginning of his career as a patent attorney: From 1977 to 1984 he was a member of the Examining Commission for Patent Attorneys. From 1978 to 2013, he has been a member of the Board of the Federal Institute of German Patent Attorneys, and was the president of that organization from 1986 to 1992. It was his idea to establish a law studies program for prospective patent attorneys at the University of Hagen and he was largely responsible for the successful realization of the program. He has also been active as a lecturer in this law studies program for several years.

To acknowledge his particular merits in intellectual property, in particular during German reunification, Hans Dieter Gesthuysen was awarded the Federal Order of Merit, First Class.

The legal department of the University of Hagen awarded Hans Dieter Gesthuysen an honorary doctor in 2004 as recognition for his academic achievements and merits in the field of law.

Hans Dieter Gesthuysen left the firm at the end of April 2015.

english Version
Hans Dieter Gesthuysen

Dr. iur. h.c. Hans Dieter Gesthuysen,
Diplom-Ingenieur

Hans Dieter Gesthuysen, geboren 1940, studierte an der Technischen Universität Berlin Elektrotechnik und nach dem Diplom 1967 begann er an der Freien Universität Berlin ein juristisches Studium.

Das abgeschlossene technische Studium und das begonnene juristische Studium führten Hans Dieter Gesthuysen auf das Gebiet des gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes. Seine Tätigkeit begann er 1967 in einer Essener Patentanwaltskanzlei. Parallel dazu setzte er sein juristisches Studium an den Universitäten Bochum und München fort. Als Patentanwalt 1970 zugelassen, war er neun Jahre in der Patentanwaltskanzlei als Partner tätig, in der er seine Tätigkeit begonnen hatte. Er gründete dann 1980 die Patentanwaltskanzlei, aus der die jetzige Sozietät entstanden ist.

Hans Dieter Gesthuysen engagierte sich seit Beginn seiner patentanwaltlichen Tätigkeit ehrenamtlich für den Berufsstand. Von 1977 bis 1984 war er Mitglied der Prüfungskommission für Patentanwälte. Von 1978 bis 2013 war er Mitglied des Vorstands der Patentanwaltskammer, deren Präsident er von 1986 bis 1992 war. Auf ihn geht die Einrichtung eines Fernstudiums für angehende Patentanwälte an der FernUniversität in Hagen zurück, an dessen erfolgreichem Aufbau er maßgeblich beteiligt gewesen ist. Im Zusammenhang mit dem Fernstudium war er mehrere Jahre als Referent und Prüfer tätig.

In Anerkennung seiner besonderen Verdienste für den gewerblichen Rechtsschutz und die Patentanwaltschaft, insbesondere während der Wiedervereinigung, hat der Bundespräsident Hans Dieter Gesthuysen 1993 das Bundesverdienstkreuz Erster Klasse verliehen.

2004 hat der Fachbereich Rechtswissenschaft der FernUniversität Hans Dieter Gesthuysen wegen seiner wissenschaftlichen Leistungen und seiner Verdienste um den Fachbereich Rechtswissenschaft die Ehrendoktorwürde verliehen.

Ende April 2015 ist Hans Dieter Gesthuysen aus der Sozietät ausgeschieden.